Hello, My Name is Lainie,

Posted: May 13, 2010 in Iglesia
Tags: , , , , , , ,

and I’m a Baptist.

I also believe the world is 4.5 billion years old.  Is that okay?  Am I going to have my Baptist card revoked?

And I drink a little.  (So did Jesus.)

And I think it’s okay for women to be teachers and deacons.  Shhhhh…

Don’t tell.

They might take my paper out of the file and put red marks all over it.  Then what happens when it comes time to transfer my letter???  Nothing good, my friends.  Nothing good.

~LG

Comments
  1. Jim Thornber says:

    I agree with you on most points. One, the world may or may not be 4.5 billion years old. It doesn’t affect my faith one way or the other. Two, if you want to drink and you’re over 21, do so. There is no reason to use Jesus as a proof text for something the Bible never condemns. Three, women have been teachers and deacons since the book of Acts. Nothing new there. Finally, if you begin your sentences with, “Hello, my name is Lainie and I’m a Christian,” it practically makes the rest of your statements a moot point. You are a Christian who expresses her love for God by identifying with the Baptist organization, just as I am a Christian who expresses my love for God through a Pentecostal organization. Our Christianity, our love for Christ and our desire to follow Him with our whole heart must always come before our denomination. If we reverse that, we’ll be more worried about pleasing our denomination than we will our Savior, and that is a dangerous place to live.

    Blessings,

    Jim

    • Jim, you’re completely right. I agree with you 100%! Don’t worry; I’m not trying to please anyone. I’m just trying to evade superfluous arguments.

      I have found myself in a more conservative church than I’ve ever been in before, and it’s just funny. I’ve always considered myself to be quite conservative, but I’ve learned that I’m on the liberal end of conservatism!

  2. tricia says:

    Hi, Lanie. My name is Tricia. I was a Baptist until my pastor went over the deep end and started teaching about the infilling of the Holy Spirit. Now, I don’t know quite what I am. More Baptist than pentecostal, but not at the same time. 🙂

    • Tricia, what do you mean by “the infilling of the Holy Spirit”? Speaking in tongues and the like? Because I fully believe that Christians are filled with the Holy Spirit, but that particular terminology may mean something I’m unfamiliar with.

      • tricia says:

        Part of it is about speaking in tongues, but what he taught does not fit with the teachings of any mainline denomination. As a Baptist, I was taught that the infilling of the Holy Spirit was something that coincided with salvation and that all Christians had it. We saw in the Bible where this was actually a separate occurence and that it needs to be an ongoing choice. We learned that speaking in tongues is for today, but more importantly, how being filled with the Holy Spirit gives strength and power to do things for God that we cannot do on our own. And how the primary purpose is to make us more like Christ by producing the fruits of the Spirit in our lives. That this is a separate event from salvation, but not necessary for salvation.

        • So, one could be saved, (i.e. “having” Jesus, in a sense), without having the Holy Spirit?

          • tricia says:

            Not exactly. At the moment of confession, our salvation is sealed with the gift of the Holy Spirit, but being filled is a separate and ongoing choice. It is kind of like we are a cup with cracks in it and God gives us the Holy Spirit but because of the cracks, He leaks out and we have to keep getting our cup filled up. That continual filling is a choice that leads us to holy living. We can try on our own to live out love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control; but this is hard to do. Asking God to fill you with the Holy Spirit means you have His strength to live these things. It doesn’t mean you always will, but His constant filling makes it easier to choose God’s way.

  3. sheri says:

    My name is Sheri.
    I love Jesus.
    I have no idea how old the earth is.
    I drink.
    Women rock and are great pastors.
    I’m not convinced that living a gay lifestyle is a sin.
    I own a gun.
    I like the polar bears.
    I speak in tongues.

Leave a Reply

