Definately Seperate; A Grammatical Kind of Holiness

Posted: May 26, 2010 in Writing
Tags: , ,

I know I’m a grammar nerd.  I’ve embraced it.  I think more people should join the club, honestly.  But even if they don’t go around snapping pictures of gross transgressions against the English language, might they consider a solid understanding of elementary spelling?  In my opinion, it’s not only useful; it’s imperative.

I don’t think I really need to go into how important it is on a resume, a scholarly report, a memorandum, a public sign, or just an email to a colleague.  I hope that most people at least realize that it’s important in those circumstances.    I don’t know what I’m saying.  The sad reality is that most people just allow their fingers to tap out some semblance of a communicative message and then hit the send button without another thought.  I’m not sure why, but I’m getting dang annoyed by it.  Maybe I’m part of a dying breed, but “definately,” “seperate,” and “privaledge” are grating on my nerves.  Any spell check can catch those, and you can also use this to help you.  Unfortunately, there are many things spell check can’t catch that can make the writer look just as ridiculous.

Examples:

  • I always loose my keys!
  • Its really getting ridiculous.
  • Your so funny!
  • Oh, that shade really compliments your eyes.
  • That doesn’t effect me at all!

I hope you saw the error in every sentence above.  If not, this should help!  I know.  I’m ridiculous.  Ultimately, eternally speaking, it doesn’t matter.

Oh it pained me to write those words!  It does matter, ever so much!  Everything inside of me wants to walk around with a big red pen and fix all the mistakes in everything I see!  Like this guy:

No offense.  I truly believe that not even bad grammar can separate you from the love of God in Christ Jesus.  But I am absolutely convinced that He holds a special place in His heart for conscientious writers.  Don’t you want to be in that special place?  I know I do.  I can’t wait for the time when Jesus says, “Well done, good and faithful servant,” with a wink that secretly whispers to my heart, “Great grammar, by the way.”

Comments
  1. Sheri says:

    Wow. I’m guilty. I never even knew there were two different compliments.

  2. sheri says:

    Oh yes! I care deeply…

Leave a Reply

