Cowboy Wisdom

Posted: June 11, 2010 in Cowboy Wisdom

Admit your mistakes,
but don’t wallow in them.

Katdish will not be surprised to hear that I don’t often admit mistakes.  To be fair, it’s awfully difficult to admit mistakes if you never make them!  What am I supposed to do, make something up?

On the very rare occasion that I find myself in error, however, I really struggle with it.  While I don’t publicly lament my woes, I do hurt inwardly. I am a rule-follower.  I want to do the right thing.  When I don’t, I feel like such a cad, and all I want to do is just go in my closet and close the door so no one can see me.  And while my piggy friend up there looks quite content, my closet (literal or metaphorical) is suffocating.  I feel like a giant idiot who’s let the whole world down.

Now, that’s just pride.  Who am I to think that my mistakes are that important?  Let’s just not even get into what God thinks about the prideful.

Perhaps admitting my mistakes would help me not wallow in them?  Ah — but that’s assuming I make mistakes.

~LG

Comments
  1. I’ve made a few mistakes. Okay, lots of them. And I’ve spent my time in the wallows. You’re so right. It’s all about pride.

  2. Jingle says:

    cute image,
    lovely quote!
    Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

