The Day I Drove Past Jesus

Posted: June 16, 2010 in Iglesia, Lessons Learned
Tags: , ,

You would think the lesson I learned when Jesus walked up to my car would have stuck, but it didn’t. (In case you missed it, here’s Part One of that story, and here’s Part Two.) The story below retells another frustrating situation that happened to me about two years ago.

On to today’s story:

So Jesus walked up to my car a little less than a year ago.  He was a filthy, possibly drunk, homeless man, but I already told you about that.  What I didn’t tell you about was that roughly a month ago, Jesus showed up in my new city, and He was a lesbian beggar.  Let me back up a little.

After insulting Jesus a year ago, I had a serious change of heart.  That moment affected me in ways I can’t even begin to explain, even though I attempted to in the previous posts.  (I’m still not happy with how I told it.)  Anyway, I decided that the best thing to do would be to get gift cards to Subway and hand them out.  If they’re really hungry, they can eat.  And as a bonus, it really was pretty healthy food.  Some hobos appreciated it and asked God to bless me while some refused it completely.  That’s okay.

Fast forward to my new, slightly-less-urban city.  I really just didn’t expect to see homeless people here; I don’t know why.  I guess I associated them with my old city and thought things would be peachy here.  I mean, this is the South, after all.  So, I have not kept up with my Subway gift cards, nor have I paid any attention to homeless people at all.

Therefore, at a moderately major intersection, when I saw a rather masculine-looking bum with a buzz cut, camo pants, and breasts, I did not have the upwelling of compassion I had become accustomed to in my previous city.  Here was my actual, disgusting thought process as I approached the intersection: “Is he holding a sign?  Wonder if he’s creative or if it’s the same as all the others.  Wait… no way is that a chick?  Ha – it’s a lesbian.  Weird.  I’ve never seen a gay homeless girl.”  And I turned the corner without another thought.  Until later, of course.  Not only did I dismiss her because she was homeless, but I also dismissed her because she was [probably] gay.

I could say a lot here, but there’s no need.  I was about as wrong as I could have possibly been, and there’s no reason to try and explain away my wrongness.  Instead, I just want to end with two questions and a reminder.

  1. Since when did God sanction a feeling of superiority among His followers?
  2. When is God ever pleased when we devalue His precious creation?

For in the way you judge, you will be judged; and by your standard of measure, it will be measured to you.

~Matthew 7:2

~LG

Comments

Leave a Reply

