Pleasantly Disturbed Thursdays

Posted: July 8, 2010 in Blog Carnival
Tags: , , , , ,

BLOG CARNIVAL!  WOO HOO!

. . .

I freaking HATE my computer desk.  Why?  Because it’s not a computer desk at all.  It is actually an old, regular desk meant for teenagers’ rooms and studying.  It’s completely not meant to have a computer on it at all.  This makes typing awkward.  I usually have to get a pillow and put the keyboard in my lap.  Actually, what I’m trying now is putting the keyboard in the drawer, on top of the junk, and typing that way.  Problem is, I’m going to get carpal tunnel any second.  I can’t raise my stupid chair because the raising lever is broken! G R R !

. . .

I just discovered today that there is a show called “Ghost Hunters International.”  It caught my eye on the menu, because I have heard of (and often watch) House Hunters International.  This made me laugh, and I tuned in.  It’s preposterous, as all of those ghosty shows are.  But, if I ever become a ghost, I’m going to be the freakiest ghost ever.  I will scare those guys right out of their jobs! I’ll make up some kind of crazy story about how I died, and then make chainsaw noises in their ears.  I’ll take their equipment and throw it across the room, breaking everything.  That way, they’ll have no record of their experience… EXCEPT IN THEIR NIGHTMARES!  After I make a big stink and scare a whole bunch of people, I’ll make sure they record me when I go “Just kidding guys.  But really, stop this stupid job and do something normal.  Oh, and Jesus loves you.”

. . .

It is currently summer break.  REALLY summer break.  Mine started late because I was teaching summer school, but now it’s in full swing!  I’m on my first full week.  What does that mean?  Why, sleeping in, of course!  Trouble is, you lose a lot of time when you sleep in.  So, I decided I would go to the early Zumba* class today.  (Early being 8:30.)  I set my alarm and everything.  When it went off this morning, I laughed in its face.  (Get it?  Face?  Ha ha?  Clocks have faces?)   But then, around 8:20, I heard my husband clear as a bell say, “Good morning!” from the living room.  Jolted out of my in-between-sleep-and-awake happiness, I loudly called, “Hello?”  No answer.  You see, my husband was at work, and had been for over two hours.**  “HELLO?”  Silence.  Freaky.  I should call Ghost Hunters International.  If that doesn’t work out, perhaps I can call House Hunters International and get a new place to live!

. . .

*What is Zumba, you ask?  Well, it’s the latest dance/exercise craze!  Super fun.  Youtube it, and then laugh that this white girl is addicted.

. . .

**Why does my husband go to work before the sun? His job stinks, plain and simple. Surgical resident.  BUT — he just started his final year!  Woo hoo!!!!

. . .

You may or may not have noticed that I have a new avatar, which reveals my identity.  You have Katdish to thank for that one.  She pestered me about it, and now I’m not incognito.  You know who I am and what I look like!  Nooo!!!

. . .

Have you ever heard of Freddy’s Frozen Custard?  It’s expensive.  I like regular ice cream better. (But I’ll go there anytime if it means hanging out with my friend, Mattie!)

. . .

Twitter.  My nemesis.  I finally joined a few months back, and I still don’t like it.  A friend suggested TweetDeck to enhance my Twitter experience.  I’m not sure if it’s enhanced or not, but it has given me something new to learn.  Fantastic.

. . .

What do you think of gum-chewing?  Among adolescents and otherwise? It has never bothered me, even as a teacher, but some people seem to be on a high horse about it.  (Brain research supports it, by the way.  Secretly, I think the dentist does, too.  More money for him!)

~LG

Comments
  1. it took me awhile.
    but, now i like twitter.

    gum…just don’t spit it on the sidewalk.

    have a good summer break!

  2. Duane Scott says:

    First of all, I just got the “real” Pleasantly Disturbed Thursdays button back from my designer and it ROCKS! You will love it.

    And your second paragraph made me roar! I want to be a ghost with you. It sounds delightfully fun!

    Tell me why brain research supports chewing gum. I’m really curious!

    • 1. Can’t wait!
      2. Oh, let’s!
      3. I’ve heard of studies where students who chew gum have higher grades and exhibit better behavior for longer periods of time in school. (That’s the brain research bit.) Sugarless-gum chewing is good for your teeth, sort of brushing them. It’s also good for your diet, because it satiates hunger. Have fun looking for the actual studies; I don’t feel like it. 🙂

  3. Zumba…I thought it was the little robot that vacuums floors…while chewing gum…and posting its results on Twitter!

  4. Helen says:

    Those in between sleep stuff can be disturbing. Sometimes I get up because I think someone is lurking outside my bedroom door and I’m a little freaked out! Then I go check to make sure doors are locked. I guess technically, a prowler could have locked the door behind him, but I try not to think about that after checking…

    Gum chewing does not bother me unless the chewer chews like a cow.

  5. Glynn says:

    Speaking of frozen custard (which I learned was Yankee for “ice cream” when I moved to St. Louis), we have a custard place here called Ted Drewes that has cult-like status in the city. It’s actually on the old Route 66.

    Just another pleasantly distrubed thought.

  6. ~Brenda says:

    I had a similar experience. It was in the middle of the night. Pitch dark. I was sound asleep. Like, the type of sleep where you’re it’s so deep you’re not sure but what you’re dead. And I hear, “Breeeeendaaaaa” in a low whisper.

    Nobody was there.

    Or were they?

    As for chewing gum … I chew it all day. Every day. It’s the only “snack” I can have. So don’t be hatin’ gum chewers. 😉

  7. HisFireFly says:

    Gum chewing.. yes, but I miss it due to dentures.

    Ice cream, yes. Frozen custard, yes. Hearing voices that aren’t there, yes.

    Random much? Yes indeed.

  8. jasonS says:

    Okay, in that in between sleep state, many times I hear someone yell my name “Jason!” I snap awake and it’s so strange. Those ghost hunter shows are so funny and I had never thought of the crossover potential between that and house hunters. That’s synergy, my friend. Marketing gold! Thanks for being disturbed. I don’t feel so alone. I will try to like Cheetos more.

    • Oh maybe it’s like Samuel.

      Then the LORD came and stood and called as at other times, “Samuel! Samuel!” And Samuel said, “Speak, for Your servant is listening.”

      Do that next time. I bet He’s trying to get you to eat Cheetos. Just obey; you won’t be sorry.

  9. Wendy says:

    Don’t be hatin’ the twitter! Twitter loves you.

    Gum chewing doesn’t bother me, except when my husband does it. He thinks he’s keeping his mouth closed when he chews it, but all I hear is SMACK! SMACK! SMACK! Makes me wanna smack him in the mouth. I know, I should really learn to express my feelings.

  10. Robin Arnold says:

    There’s an arm massage to help avoid carpal tunnel. I do it or ask someone strong of fingers to give the inside of my arms between wrist and elbow a knutching.

    My husband gets up and goes to work too early too. Which also means he goes to bed too early or falls asleep as I tell him about my day.

    I wish I looked as good as you.

    • Ooo that massage sounds nice.

      Bummer, right? I’m usually a bit annoyed when he goes to bed, because it is WAY too early.

      And, it’s easy to look nice when you are making a cartoon of yourself. 🙂

  11. You want freaky? I once felt the mattress sink like someone getting into bed. Nobody there. Eeek!

    I like your new avatar. You are very cute.

Leave a Reply

