Trust and Obey

Posted: July 12, 2010 in Lessons Learned
Tags: , , , ,

God asked me to do something a while back.  Although I possessed some of the professional skills necessary to contribute to such a task, that is not what He was asking me to do.  He was not suggesting that I merely “contribute.”  Knowing that contributing was all I was prepared to do, I brushed it off as a nice idea, hoping that someone, someday, would meet this need.

Some months later, I was praying that God would bring me closer to Him.  That He would make me useful.  That He would challenge me and teach me how to love others the way He loves them.  I listened earnestly for a response.  You can probably guess what it was.

Oh.  That.  Really?  That’s how You want to teach me those things?  Well, no, honestly, I don’t want to do it at all.

He waited.

Seriously?  I can’t do it.  You know my personality.  I can’t start a ministry.

He waited.

I cried.

Okay.

I was not merely reluctant; I was terrified.  I would have to be in charge of this, and I have never been in charge of anything except my own classroom.  We would need a location, and it would have to be free.  Free?  Yeah right!  I made a few uncomfortable contacts (did I mention I HATE contacting people I don’t know, especially to ask for things?), but God made it happen.  Victory!  Next, I had to create a plan.  I had no idea what to plan, so I had to meet with someone who had more expertise.  God made that happen, even though I think both of us were reluctant.  I had to organize and facilitate.  That, actually, I can do — I just didn’t care to do it.  Oh, and I had to recruit people. Scratch that — I am having to recruit people every week to make this ongoing service project happen.

It’s not easy.  Few are responding. Out of desperation, I’ve had to recruit people outside my church — and outside the faith — to help, which infuriates me.  Aren’t those who love Jesus supposed to be helping?

I’ve been angry about it, but God reminded me of a few things today.

  1. It’s not my job to play Holy Spirit and decide who should be doing what in service to Him.
  2. It is my job to be obedient. I must keep asking, serving, and loving.
  3. God made no promises about anything.  This is His thing, and He’ll do it the way He wants to.

Oh yeah, and I forgot to mention that He has provided every single week.  It’s just not been exactly the way I had it planned.  Imagine that.

~LG

Trust and Obey
When we walk with the Lord
in the light of His word,
what a glory He sheds on our way!
While we do His good will,
He abides with us still,
and with all who will trust and obey.

Trust and obey, for there’s no other way
to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.

[Not a shadow can rise, not a cloud in the skies,
But His smile quickly drives it away;
Not a doubt or a fear, not a sigh or a tear,
Can abide while we trust and obey.]

[Trust and obey, for there’s no other way
to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.]

[Not a burden we bear, not a sorrow we share,
But our toil He doth richly repay;
Not a grief or a loss, not a frown or a cross,
But is blessed if we trust and obey.]

[Trust and obey, for there’s no other way
to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.]

[But we never can prove the delights of His love
Until all on the altar we lay;
For the favor He shows, for the joy He bestows,
Are for them who will trust and obey.]

[Trust and obey, for there’s no other way
to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.]

Then in fellowship sweet
we will sit at His feet,
or we’ll walk by His side in the way.
What He says we will do,
where He sends we will go;
Never fear — only trust and obey.

Trust and obey, for there’s no other way
to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.

Comments
  1. katdish says:

    It’s so hard when what God wants isn’t what we want. Especially those of us who tend to be a bit (ahem) stubborn.

  2. Helen says:

    Hi Lainie. I kind of know how you feel, at least how you felt at first. This summer my friend and I have started a Women’s Prayer Group at my Church. My friend works, so most of the grunt work to start with was done by me. I didn’t resent that. I just felt like I am not capable to start this ministry. But you know what? We already have 15 women in our prayer group, and many others have cornered me in Church asking if there would be hard feelings if they only came to some of the meetings and not all… Do I feel qualified to lead the prayer group? Not really. But I trust that at any time now, someone more qualified and better at leading will step in… Hopeful, I will step back gracefully then, and not try to grasp what was never really mine.

    Ooops. Sorry. This was a really long comment.

  3. macayla says:

    That’s how I felt when God told me to stay home with my kids and make them my ministry. I had serious doubts about my ability to be around little ones 24/7 since I’m naturally equipped to work with adolescents. It’s been agonizing at times, mostly hard, and rarely easy, but He’s taught me to stop being so hard on myself about every aspect of this ministry. I’m not helping circumstances by being a jerk to myself.

    Sadly, I’m still a jerk to myself an awful lot. If my husband talked to me the way I talk to myself, I’d never put up with him. I need to learn to talk to myself based on Ephesians 4:29–what is edifying. That doesn’t give me permission to be in denial, but it does mean I need to quit being a jerk.

Leave a Reply

