Halved

Posted: July 13, 2010 in Blog Carnival
Tags:

She always arrives much later than hoped for, but she does always arrive.  She is faithful; she is full of hope and opportunity.  She laughs with children and teases adults.  She brings color to your cheeks and restores your energy.  She is Summer.

Students (and teachers) begin dreaming of her in October, so it does seem like she dawdles and lags.  As we wait for her, we begin making plans — pinning dreams and goals and naps and vacations all over the intangible pictures of her that live in our minds.  “This Summer” will be THE Summer to finally get serious about the book, learn Spanish, get into the habit of a regular workout plan, go on a mission trip to South America, learn to enjoy cooking…  Well, that’s my list, anyway.

Like every year, however, Summer is visiting only for a short while.  She’s already dropping hints in Target and Walmart that time is short… better stock up on those notebooks and crayons.  But, didn’t she JUST get here?  This somehow happens every year; I have barely started on my list!  Here are my excuses, as if Summer planned to stop and empathize:

  1. I started this blog in hopes of spurring me on to write more of what I hope will one day be a book.  I have had a lot of trouble writing, however.  It’s not that I don’t have ideas — I have LOTS of ideas and lots of chapters I’ve started.  I’m just insanely particular about when I like to write.  I have to be 100% alone, with no real prospect of that aloneness being interrupted.  If I’m interrupted, all is lost.  Literally.  My mind is like an Etch-a-Sketch; one “Hey Honey?” and it’s like you have just taken my brain between your hands and erased everything.  This is maddening, and makes me unduly angry at innocent passers-by.  So, I’ve suspended much of my writing so that I might be loving.  Hopefully someday, I’ll learn how to do both.
  2. Learning Spanish?  I re-started Rosetta Stone again yesterday.  I’m sure I’ll be fluent by fall.
  3. I started a new workout plan again yesterday (did you pick up on the fact that yesterday was my “get serious” day?), but  I’m already making plans to skip tomorrow because my favorite instructor will not be teaching Zumba.
  4. A mission trip was not in the plans for me, which is okay since I don’t know Spanish yet.  Soon.
  5. I have concluded that it’s impossible to like cooking.  Anyone who says different is trying to sell you something.

But, I know Summer doesn’t care; she didn’t even pretend to listen to any of this.  Summer has no worries; she simply offers time to those who will spend it wisely and to those who will sleep it away.

I’ve chosen to half it.  I’m getting serious now.  What about you?

. . .

Written for Bridget Chumbley’s Blog Carnival on Summer.

Comments
  1. Glynn says:

    Summer is also a will o’ the wisp, and vanishes as soon as we try to hold on to her.

    Good post.

  2. jasonS says:

    To celebrate our mutual readership, I came to comment and celebrate. Then I laughed at the thought of you going off on at the poor, unsuspecting soul who started with “hey, honey?” Very nice.

    We too are undergoing summer projects. My wife’s a teacher so in some ways that’s helping, but it’s still a lot of work to do! We got our storage unit emptied (wrote about that yesterday) and we’re trying to declutter and simplify our house and lives. These are the main goals… so that when school does start back, we aren’t as crazy stressed trying to hold it all together.

    • That poor, unsuspecting soul is my husband! He’s often in the way of my writing, but I had to have a talk with myself and point out the obvious: Hey, that’s a good thing. He’s much more important than writing, and I’m blessed to have a husband who wants to come home. 🙂

      OH decluttering. Maybe when we have more space! We have such a small apartment right now that it’s impossible! Kudos to you!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. Wendy says:

    Getting serious? What is this getting serious you speak of? And how does it fit in with summer? The mind boggles. Maybe I need to sit down with a big bag of Cheetos and ponder this.

  4. Duane Scott says:

    HA! I loved this Lainie. Okay, I’m going to start with you. I’m getting serious. Oddly, my list would look just like yours. I’m going to go jogging today.

    But man, it’s so hot outside.

  5. I loved your version the person of Summer….and I too have been working on your #3 in my neck of the woods. I’m glad I stopped in!

  6. katdish says:

    Really? You’re THAT easily distracted? What a bummer!

  7. Bridget says:

    I like this idea. I’d planned to take a first aid/CPR class, a sign language class, start walking, and do some projects around the house.
    So far I’ve done the CPR class and am walking. That’s close to half!

    Thanks for posting, Lainie.

  8. ~Brenda says:

    Totally with you on #1. As for cooking … I love to. And I love to eat. Problem is, I can’t eat anything I cook for the fam. This tends to put a damper on things.

    Your post is much less gruesome than mine. I just notice that. 😀

Leave a Reply

