Playing Dress-Up

Posted: July 20, 2010 in Writing

I once asked how to get fake people.  You see, I have always loved writing, but I’ve never been able to produce fiction.  So, I asked writers how to get fake people in your head to write about.  Here’s what Katdish said to me:

Are you serious?

You write a non-fiction about something you know intimately, then you change up a few things. Now, go do that…

(wow, that sounded a bit bossy)

Yes, it sounded bossy.  That’s because it was bossy, and that’s because it was Katdish who said it.  Honestly, it didn’t help me at all.  Sorry.

However, I still love writing, and I still want to write.  I know God wants me to write my memoirs, but it’s just not flowing right now.  He warned me once before about being hasty; the story will be written and told in His time.  There’s no need to try and rush it.  So, it’s tabled.  Maybe for a day or a year or a decade.  I don’t know.  New project.

Fiction.

But I don’t have fake people.

Recently on Twitter, someone said something like,

Fiction is just truth playing dress-up.

I don’t know who said it, because I forgot to favorite it, but it really struck me.  Huh.  Write about something true, but dress it up a little.  I can totally do that!  I didn’t know it could be so simple!  I think I might be able to write fiction!

Wait… isn’t that the same thing Katdish said?  Oops.

And thanks. 😀

~LG

Comments
  1. Kathleen says:

    Don’t forget to ‘twirl’. 🙂

  2. jasonS says:

    I’d like to write more fiction too… Not that I’m an expert writer in any sense of the word, but I think it helps to think of your characters as real people. Sometimes when I’ve started writing things I’ll do a little character sketch and talk about the person’s upbringing, some unique facts, a little story about them–so they feel real & I’m inside “their head.” It still has to be something you know of course, otherwise it doesn’t make sense.

    I don’t know. It helps me. But the other thing is just to keep doing it. You’ll find a rhythm and flow to it… Have fun writing!

  3. katdish says:

    First of all, you’re welcome.

    What’s wrong with making the main character like you–or who you wish you were. For me, writing fiction bridges the gap between the life we live and the life we could live.

    I don’t care how “out there” a story is, somewhere within there is an element of truth. That’s the beauty of it.

  4. macayla says:

    Rewrite other people’s stuff. I wrote fan fiction for a couple of years before I started my own and learned how to develop characters and plots that way. It was very easy and I learned A LOT. It may seem like cheating, but really, everybody is rewriting somebody’s story. For example, Cold Mountain was The Odyssey set in the Civil War.

Leave a Reply

