Pleasantly Disturbed Thursdays

Posted: July 22, 2010 in Blog Carnival

Duane Scott's Infamous Blog Carnival!

. . .

Have you ever accidentally typed “Dog” instead of “God,” or “god” instead of “dog”?  Fortunately, I’ve caught myself every time that I know of… That I know of.  That would be such a crazy mix-up.

. . .

Julie & Julia was a great movie.  It got me into a couple of emotions vs. logic throw-downs, the first and most unexpected of which I blogged about here.  The second was the impulse to go buy Julia Child’s cookbook and begin cooking my way through it like Julie did.  Julie developed a love for cooking this way!  Only, of course, I would not be able to cook so extravagantly so very often.  It would be more like once a week.  Yes, once a week for 574 weeks would be, roughly, 48 years, but it’s certainly a more reasonable expectation for someone who doesn’t like to cook than to try and cook them all in a year.  That’s utter madness.  Anyway, that was my emotional reaction.  My logical reaction went thusly: Lainie.  You hate cooking.  Trying to cook horridly difficult recipes inspired by FRENCH DISHES, (which, of course, are much more difficult than normal, American ones), is not going to make you suddenly *love* cooking.  On the contrary, you’ll hate it all the more, and your husband will suffer when you boycott the kitchen except to retrieve Cheetos.  Don’t ruin all the happy thoughts you have about this movie by trying to set out on your own cooking misadventure, which will inevitably lead to thinking Julie Powell is a mean liar who’s trying to ruin your life.  Now, why would you even think something like that?  Stick with Kraftfoods.com.  Really.

. . .

I really, truly don’t think Julie Powell is a mean liar.  I don’t think anything about her at all; I don’t know her!

. . .

I just might go out and buy that cookbook anyway.  Once a week isn’t so overwhelming.  Right?  Right?

. . .

NO!  Julie started out by actually enjoying cooking as a way to relax after a hard day.  You, on the other hand, hate it and feel like it makes your day even harder. N-O!

. . .

Phew, glad that’s settled.

. . .

You know how people talk about disgruntled employees?  In my estimation, being disgruntled is not a desirable state of mind.  On the contrary, we must want to be gruntled.

~LG

Comments
  1. Does Julia have a recipe for Cheeto souffle?

    I must rent that movie. Probably the only one on the continent who hasn’t seen it.

  2. Wendy says:

    Why am I suddenly craving Cheetos? Wait! I’ve got some! Here I come, Cheetos!

  3. DS says:

    Yes, I always type Dog instead of God. Someone once told me that a dog has a lot of the same characteristics of God. He is loyal, faithful, friendly….

    And, thank GOODNESS you didn’t buy that cookbook. You know it would’ve been found on your garage sale a mere 8 months later.

    I am now going to test Cheetos dipped in ranch. It sounds good, right?

  4. HisFireFly says:

    Cheeto souffle?? A mix of cheetos and KD? Hmmmm… might be a new movie in the making.

    Try googling God and dog.. there was an awesome song/video going around a little while ago.. you’d love it..

    “I look up and I see God, I look down and see my dog…” it’s great.

Leave a Reply

