Two Things

Posted: July 28, 2010 in Writing
Tags: , ,

If you want to be a writer, you must do two things above all others: read a lot and write a lot. There’s no way around these two things that I’m aware of, no shortcut.

~Stephen King, On Writing

This is fantastic news!  I am actually doing something right.  I have had my nose in a book since before I could read — literally.  I have a picture of myself walking around with one of my dad’s books open in front of me; I was perhaps 15 months old.  (I would scan it for you, but it’s in the top of my closet and just hard to get to.)  And did you know that I have a scar on my face that I got from a book? Yep. I was walking down (or up — I have no idea) our front steps as a toddler, and my mom told me to put my book down so I wouldn’t trip. I refused, tripped, and got a big gash in my cheek. I am perhaps the only person in the world with such a story.

Oh, and I’m constantly writing.  I’m not always writing creatively, but I’m writing. It’s often the only way I can sort out my thoughts. For, how can I know what I think until I see what I say? (Someone said that. I don’t know if he was talking about writing or not.) I’ve even had times when I couldn’t articulate what I had to say, so I simply had to have someone read a page from my journal.  I am simply tied to the written word.

Anyway, I am glad to see that I’m following his two cardinal rules, because I broke almost all the others already.  Crud.

Comments
  1. macayla says:

    If you’re tied to the written word, then blog again! I miss you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

