An Open Letter for PDT

Posted: September 9, 2010 in Blog Carnival
Tags: , ,

Dear Aurora,

I do not profess to be a connoisseur of burrito-building.  In fact, I could probably count on one hand how many times I’ve actually attempted to make a burrito in my kitchen. I do, however, frequent your establishment to partake in tasty burritos.  Your establishment, which shall remain nameless (but it starts with a “Chip” and ends with an “otle”), is not my favorite.  Qdoba is my favorite.  Qdoba is about five hours away, so I come your way instead.  It’s good enough to get my fix, but you, Aurora, made my burrito wrong.

You’re checking the ingredients… oh, you put all the right ingredients in.  No problem with that at all!  And yes, the burrito was warm and sufficiently stuffed.  What I’m talking about here is arrangement. Have you ever thought about the eating experience when designing a burrito?

Thank you, Aurora the burrito-maker, for my interesting experience, starting with the guacamole/rice burrito I began eating, and then the sour cream/rice interlude, followed by the cheesy chicken finale.  Really.  It’s like three totally separate, incomplete burritos.

I think I might just wait until Qdoba opens a store in Austin in a few weeks.  It’ll be worth the drive.

Sincerely,
A Qdoba Lover

Duane Scott's Pleasantly Disturbed Thursdays!

Comments
  1. katdish says:

    Thank you. We need to speak out against wrongly made burritos the size of your head.

  2. jasonS says:

    I LOVE QDOBA! The nearest one to me is Seattle airport so you’ve got it better than me (and we don’t have the unnamed burrito chain you mentioned either). I have noticed what you’re talking about with Qdoba as well though. Maybe not to that extent, but the chicken/steak seems to be in one bite with mostly rice/beans in the other bite. Maybe you’re supposed to have a giant mouth to eat it properly. I keep doing stretching exercises but I’m not there yet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

