Screwtape Saturday Vol. P

Posted: September 11, 2010 in Screwtape Saturday, Spiritual Warfare
Tags: , , , ,

Welcome to Volume “Preface” of my Screwtape Series!  Hopefully, I will actually follow through and continue with other volumes, but that remains to be seen. Let’s just enjoy the moment; I actually posted today!

A friend of mine recently told me about this amazing book on CD she had been listening to in the car, and it turns out that it was The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis.  I had always wanted to read it this book, and finding myself in between books, I went to the bookstore and snatched it up!  Of course, I got it in print instead of on CD.  My car does not have a CD player, nor have I figured out how to highlight favorite passages on CDs anyway…

In any event, this book is comprised of a series of letters written by a senior devil, Screwtape, to his nephew, Wormwood.  Through these letters, Screwtape is offering advice and admonition as Wormwood learns how to effectively tempt a human.  In the preface, C.S. Lewis offers words of caution to those who would read correspondence between two demons: First, don’t be too quick to write demons off as nonexistent or inconsequential; neither be too eager to learn all about them.  Second, remember that the devil is a liar — don’t assume what he says is true.

I must confess here that I have always been one to believe sincerely in the reality of angels, demons, and spiritual warfare.  I believe it’s all around us, and it freaks me out. The devil is powerful and cunning; I just keep asking God to keep him away from me, because I am no match. Even still, he assails me. Perhaps it’s a good idea to gain a little perspective about him, even if it’s from a set of fictional letters.  Would you like to join me on the journey?  I’ll be posting about the first letter next Saturday!

For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the powers, against the world forces of this darkness, against the spiritual forces of wickedness in the heavenly places.
Ephesians 6:12

~LG

Leave a Reply

